I feel excited about the new pedagogical ideas I have encountered during ‘Connectivism and Connective Knowledge 2011’. I’m proud to say that the newsletter ‘OLDaily – Online Learning Daily’ and ‘The Open World Learning Institute’ linked to my attempt of vlog mash-up, from our initial Friday sessions in CCK11, called ‘Connective Learning’. It was also streamed live on ‘ds106 – Digital Storyteling’ after our Wednesday online session on 23/2. During our last week I engaged in Stephen Downes’ predictions of ‘The School of the Future’ in relation to online learning.

Ten years ago, the millennium year, I graduated as an ambitious teacher and introduced ‘student-centered’ methods in my practice. Together we participated in concept mapping and stored representations in digital portfolios, lessons were recorded on video and photos of the ‘white board’ were stored in an online archive. Students used their own Laptop as PLE and shared their learning on the school network. I was in contact with the Danish Chaos Pilots, but ended up as a ‘Personal Development Coach’ and investigated the role of a ‘mentor skills’ among teachers. I got allocated time in the CAVE Simulator environment to enhance students understanding of cell physiology and interaction. Back then my Master thesis investigated e-mail, webpages and video recordings as ‘new’ tools for learning, thanks to the intercontinental master program in ‘Adult Learning and Global Change’ (ALGC). I now ten years later have the chance to investigate how teachers can implement today’s ‘new’ tools for learning.

My Node Map (you need to ‘click’ on the nodes to get my perspective):

Evaluation Questions:
What is your background?
My professional career started with my qualifications in environmental chemistry and marine biology, followed by working as a teacher with specialization in didactics and ‘Information and Communication Technology’ (ICT). I’m now focusing on my thesis for my Master of Arts and Social Science in ‘Adult Learning and Global Change’ (ALGC). My commitment to a new level of teacher training curriculum has involved me in the development of coherent strategies to fully integrate the use of computers as pedagogical tools in the classroom.

What were your learning objectives for CCK11?
In week01 I setup the following Work-Flow:
1.Follow the readings, seminars and activities of the CCK11 course.
2.Micro-blog insights, thoughts or questions on Twitter directly after the event.
3.To create a blog post for each week with models and video blogging to illustrate my connections, i.e. task-artifact.
4.Engage with other participants and establish networks
Finally to establishing credentials from the participaion in CCK11, I will complete my master’s thesis in “Adult Learning and Global Change”

Did you achieve these objectives?
My research proposal “Collaboration and Networking with Peers among In-service Teachers – The transformation teaching practice and course design with P2P learning” has been accepted and based on the results from an on-line survey I will finalize my Master thesis in ALGC. My PLN was mostly connected with other Swedish participants in CCK11 and we are already involved in new projects together. The suggested readings were divided into Insights-Thoughts-Questions in my weekly blog posts and Twitter was used to share quotes from the discussion that resonated with my understanding.

What do you see as the advantages of a MOOC?
I think the CCK11 worked as a temporary center that involved the participants in dialogues. The autonomous and open nature of the course encouraged me to decide my own learning path.

What do you see as the disadvantages of a MOOC?
The back channel during the live sessions created a feeling of belonging to the course, but I lost this aspect in the fragmented asynchrony participation. The hubs and clusters were hard to distinguish during the course.

How would you improve a MOOC such as CCK11?
In many social networking sites you develop a ‘digital identity’ and can join participants with similar interest. Maybe the introductory week also should acquaint new participants with work done by previous students.

What would you like to say to the CCK11 facilitators?
I love the facilitator’s discussion about the key elements in ‘Connectivism and Connective Knowledge’. Their expert knowledge allowed me to ‘taste’ the vocabulary and mannerism in this domain. The suggested activities could continue through the course and I also like the facilitator’s reflections of our weekly interactions with the readings.

What would you like to say to other CCK11 participants?
I’ll try to use a metaphor of water fluxes introduced by Falkenmark (1995):

Blue water is the sum of the water that recharges the groundwater and the water that runs-off over the surface. Green water is an important resource for global food production whereas the white water is non-productive that feeds back directly to the atmosphere.

In this model my fellow participants turn the CCK domain of knowledge into beautiful flowers and useful plants, their contribution prevents the development of dark clouds that block the sunshine of learning.

