Week01 Insights:

·Siemens (2008) perspective of learning as a result of making connections was in 2008 combined with Downes (2007) philosophical idea that knowledge resides in traverse networks of connections.  They started a Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) called “Connectivism and Connective Knowledge” to create a format for how we learn in large open networks opportunities for sharing knowledge.  It can be described as an online event, with open online participation around a schedule or agenda.  The facilitation comes from people with reputation or expertise in the topics and the activities are relying on successful formations of learning networks to assist people studying the topics.

· Networked learning can be described as ‘a process of developing and maintaining connections with people and information, and communicating in such a way so as to support one another’s learning’ (Wikipedia, 2011).  Siemens (2008) associates the concept of connectivism with networked learning and tries to divert from traditional theories about social constructivism.  According to his view learning and knowledge rest in diversity of opinions, and learning is a process of connecting nodes or information sources.  The ‘Skill to identify valid content and expertise’, ‘Recognise questionable sources’ and ‘Compare conflicting points of view’ are fundamental, but the compilation and synthesising of content is then represented in artefacts (Siemens, 2004).  Drexler (2010) connect this theoretical framework with the construction of a personal learning environment and how we take part in our own personal learning network.

·I used this wordpress.com blog as my Personal Learning Environment [PLE], which then also developed to my digital identity  based on ‘who goes there’ instead of ‘who am I’.  When your identity is part of the Web you can establish connections to Social Networks, take part in Micro-blogging and build your Personal Learning Network [PLN].

·One of the course facilitators Stephen Downes (2007) simplified these concepts when he stated “to teach is to model and demonstrate, to learn is to practice and reflect.”.  To validate my knowledge I have divided my practice into following Work-Flow:

  1. Follow the readings, seminars and activities of the CCK11 course.
  2. Micro-blog insights, thoughts or questions on Twitter directly after the event.
  3. To create a blog post for each week with models and video blogging to illustrate my connections, i.e. task-artifact.
  4. Engage with other participants and establish networks

Finally to establishing credentials from the participaion in CCK11, I will complete my master’s thesis in “Adult Learning and Global Change” [ALGC]

Week01 Thoughts:

·To illustrate my thoughts on What Is Connectivism?, I made my first attempt to record a video presentation.  My terminology is still very basic and I would like to take this opportunity to correct some mistakes: “points within concept” (=related aspects), “big information” (=large amount of relevant content) and finally the course name is “Connectivism and Connective Knowledge 2011” ( nothing else).  I have called my presentation “Extended SOLO-Taxonomy” and this diagram illustrates the two last stages explained in the presentation: 

Without any further adieu here is my presentaion from the first week in CCK11:

Week01 Questions:

When I changed my wordpress.com blog to a PLE, I was not sure where to draw the line between formal and private.  Many participants in CCK11 seem to have started their separate PLE for the coursework. 

  • Is it distracting to talk about rock climbing and treatments for our German Shepard in the middle of reflections from the course? 
  • Does the separate category create a container that can be isolated from private blogging?
  • Should diagrams, photos and video blogging only be published when they are professional with high standard?

I guess the questions are about if it is allowed to be informal in a formal setting, please leave some comments!

